Society of Midland Authors Best Books Award Winners | Bleader

Society of Midland Authors Best Books Award Winners



The Society of Midland Authors honored its picks for the best books by midwestern authors published in 2009 on May 11 at its 94th annual awards dinner.

Per the SMA's Web site: "The juried competition is open to authors and poets who reside in, were born in, or have strong ties to the twelve-state Midwestern Heartland." That is, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

Here are the winners:

Adult fiction: Kent Meyers (Spearfish, South Dakota) for Twisted Tree

Adult nonfiction:: James McManus (Kenilworth) for Cowboys Full: The Story of Poker

Biography: Richard C. Lindberg (Chicago) for The Gambler King of Clark Street: Michael C. McDonald and the Rise of Chicago's Democratic Machine

Children's fiction: Saundra Mitchell (Indianapolis) for Shadowed Summer

Children's nonfiction: Christine Taylor-Butler (Kansas City, Missouri) for Sacred Mountain: Everest

Poetry: Jim Harrison (Livingston, Montana, native of Grayling, Michigan) for In Search of Small Gods

James Friend Memorial Award for Literary and Dramatic Criticism: Tom Williams of

A list of the finalists is here.