12 O'Clock Track: Melt Yourself Down, "We Are Enough" | Bleader

12 O'Clock Track: Melt Yourself Down, "We Are Enough"


Sign up for our newsletters Subscribe


At first I had no idea what to expect from today's 12 O'Clock Track, "We Are Enough"—my only clues were a couple ho-hum tags on Melt Yourself Down's Bandcamp page, "alternative" and "United Kingdom." A friend passed the track along after he became addicted to it, having had it sent to him by a friend—basically, precisely how the Internet is supposed to function when it comes to music.

There's not much information out there yet about Melt Yourself Down, a six-piece outfit with a name about as lame as their Bandcamp tags. A Facebook page tells me they've only been around since January of this year and that members include Pete Wareham and Ruth Goller of Acoustic Ladyland, Tom Skinner from one of Mulatu Astatke's bands, and Satin Singh, who's been a percussionist with Fela!, the popular musical about legendary Afrobeat vocalist Fela Kuti.

The track is fun and raucous rock at its core, with jazzy, Afrobeat elements and an undeniable, dancy horn hook that transform it into something much more than "alternative" and "United Kingdom."

If you find more, please send.

Add a comment