The 2019 Reader Gift Guide | Holiday Gift Guide | Chicago Reader

City Life » Holiday Gift Guide

The 2019 Reader Gift Guide

More than 90 local items handpicked by Reader staff, including records, books, classes, handcrafted clothing, and home goods

by

Sign up for our newsletters Subscribe

3 comments

Salem Collo-Julin, listings coordinator

You're Here! Now What? zine and other items by the Yollocalli Arts Reach teen crew via the National Museum of Mexican Art online market ($5-$8) mkt.com/national-museum-of-mexican-art/

"Notes" T-shirt designed by Arts of Life artist Jean Wilson ($25) artsoflife.org/shop

Private tour for three in a Tesla sedan ($250+) chicagodetours.com/small-group-private-tours/

Whole salami from Romanian Kosher Sausage Co. 7200 N. Clark ($25-$35) romaniankoshersausage.com/products

"Koko Cat Skateboarding" enamel pin from Kokorokoko 1323 N. Milwaukee ($10) etsy.com/listing/639287484/koko-cat-skateboarding-enamel-lapel-pin?ref=shop_home_active_1&frs=1

Chicken Chews dog treats from the Chicago Bone Company 2704 N. California ($12) chicagobonecompany.com/merch

Custom-built cat tree from Cat Tree Kingdom ($100-$600) cattreekingdom.org/super-sized_trees

COURTESY BLUE ISLAND TRADITIONAL MEDICINE
  • Courtesy Blue Island Traditional Medicine

Nutritional counseling sessions at Blue Island Traditional Medicine 1843 N. Racine ($60-$75, some insurance accepted) blueislandtraditionalmedicine.com/therapies

Maya Dukmasova, staff writer

COURTESY VIHANGA
  • Courtesy Vihanga

Kinnera long-sleeved cotton silk crop top from Vihanga ($160) vihanga.co/collections/s-s-2019/products/sheer-blue-hibiscus-long-sleeve?variant=30938577469504

"Chance and Bey" T-shirt by Sheila Rashid ($45) sheilarashid.com/collections/all/products/chance-and-bey-touched-my-overalls-t-shirt

Line pattern bowl ($49) or Japanese incense ($12-$35) from Five Elements Home 5239 N. Clark fiveelementshome.com/

Gourmet gelato from Angelo's Gelato Italiano ($3-$4 per pint at local grocers including Devon Market, 1440 W. Devon) angelogelato.com/home.html

Leor Galil, music writer

COURTESY POP TOY POP
  • Courtesy Pop Toy Pop

Steve Bravo's "Harold's Over East" Harold's Chicken Shack sweatshirt from Pop Toy Pop ($50) poptoypop.bigcartel.com/product/harold-s-over-east-black

Visible and Invisible Persons: Distributed in Space from the Numero Group (LP $22, MP3 $10) numerogroup.com/products/visible-and-invisible-persons-distributed-in-space

Sergej Vutuc's photo zine Western Avenue from Half Letter Press ($7) halfletterpress.com/western-ave

Ezra Claytan Daniels and Ben Passmore's graphic novel Bttm Fdrs from Fantagraphics ($29) fantagraphics.com/bttm-fdrs

Avery R. Young's Neckbone: Visual Verses from Northwestern University Press ($25, nupress.northwestern.edu/content/neckbone) and Tubman LP ($8, fperecs.bandcamp.com/album/tubman)

Noname's Book Club bookmark bundle ($10) nonamebooks.com/shop

"No System: Affirmation" T-shirt from Trap House Chicago ($30) traphousechicago.us/product-page/no-system-affirmation

Observations: Year One chapbook by Spencer Tweedy ($12) observations.website

"Vote Leor for best pizza" T-shirt by Ryan Duggan at Redbubble ($17.36, proceeds go to Chicago Reader) redbubble.com/people/chicagoreader/works/41539559-vote-leor-for-best-pizza-best-of-chicago-2019?p=t-shirt

Lauren Michele Jackson's White Negroes: When Cornrows Were in Vogue and Other Thoughts on Cultural Appropriation from Beacon Press ($25.95) beacon.org/White-Negroes-P1521.aspx

Janaya Greene, social media coordinator

Bitch magazine subscription ($29.95) bitchmedia.org/subscribe/new

COURTESY REFORMED SCHOOL
  • Courtesy Reformed School

Maxine Waters or Bayard Rustin enamel pin from Reformed School ($12) etsy.com/shop/ReformedSchool

Honey Whiskey soap bar from Soap Distillery ($8) soapdistillery.com/collections/handmade-­soaps/products/honey-whiskey-soap-bar

Fiyah Fit Afro-­Caribbean Dance Fitness classes, various locations, $15 drop-ins ladysolpresents.com

Yoga classes with Haji Healing Salon, various locations $10 each hajihealing.com/

AKG K240 professional studio headphones ($45) akg.com

Deanna Isaacs, senior staff writer

Two-session course on Dinosaurs and Other Fossils of Egypt at the Oriental Institute 1155 E. 58th ($98) oi.uchicago.edu

Original art from South Side Community Art Center's Holiday Sale, December 6 and 7 at South Side Community Art Center 3831 S. Michigan, sscartcenter.org

COURTESY CHICAGO SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA
  • Courtesy Chicago Symphony Orchestra

Verdi: Otello, Riccardo Muti conducts the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, two-CD set from CSO Resound ($34.99) symphonystore@cso.org

Andrew Patner's A Portrait in Four Movements: The Chicago Symphony Under Barenboim, Boulez, Haitink, and Muti from University of Chicago Press ($27.50) press.uchicago.edu/ucp/books/book/chicago/P/bo36844914.html

Original art from Woman­Made Gallery's Small Works Show, December 6-15 at Lacuna Lofts 2150 S. Canalport ($50-$300) womanmade.org/small-works-members-show-2019/

Jamie Ludwig, associate editor

Come Go With Me: The Stax Years by the Staples Singers, deluxe seven-LP box set from Craft Recordings ($159.99) found.ee/staplesingers-pivot-g

Ministry: Prescripture, limited-edition visual history book about Ministry (LOL, this could be a "careful what you wish for" situation) ($75 preorder) melodicvirtue.com/products/ministry-prescripture

Ipsento: Coffee 101 class at Ipsento Coffee 2035 N. Western ($80, with Groupon offers as low as $55) eventbrite.com/o/ipsento-coffee-729620843

Haymarket Books Book Club membership (packages at $20, $25, and $30 per month for a total of up to 40 titles a year) haymarketbooks.org/blogs/51-join-the-haymarket-book-club

Yasou Vegan Skin Care Set ($135 includes day and night creams) yasouskincare.com/shop/day-and-night/

Blade & Bloom's Rich Lip Balm in Crush ($12) bladeandbloom.com/collections/all/rich-lip-balm

Badass reclaimed leather purse by Ransack Leather (as low as $70 or $290 for the studded Rock & Roll large shoulder duffle) etsy.com/shop/ransackleather/?fbclid=IwAR3w0FIEdm7h4WMI6XruHQ_Bk-VYytGI

COURTESY THE CHICAGO SCHOOL OF GUITAR MAKING
  • courtesy the Chicago School of Guitar Making

Guitar setup and maintenance class at Specimen Chicago School of Guitar Making 1240 N. Homan ($275-$365) specimenproducts.com/product/setup-maintenance-guitar-bass/

Dark Matter coffee subscription to limited-­edition monthly blends (three-, six-, and 12-month options at $20 per bag) darkmattercoffee.com/products/subscription

Karen Hawkins, coeditor in chief

Online or in-store gift card for Women & Children First 5233 N. Clark, womenandchildrenfirst.com/gift-cards

"Bad Girls Throughout History 2020" wall calendar from Feminist Speakeasy ($15) feministspeakeasy.com/collections/frontpage/products/bad-girls-throughout-history-wall-2020-calendar

Mnemosyne Spiral Notebook B5 at Martha Mae 5407 N. Clark ($12) marthamae.info/collections/notebooks-and-stationery/products/mnemosyne-lined-notebook-b5?variant=23734462742586

COURTESY THE SILVER ROOM
  • Courtesy the Silver Room

"Black Girl Magic" crop top from the Silver Room 1506 E. 53rd ($25) thesilverroom.com/collections/featured/products/black-girl-magic-crop-top

Sue Kwong, creative lead

Kitchen towels by Rhymes With Twee ($10) etsy.com/shop/rhymeswithtwee/

Organic hair products from Ultimate Fresher ($10-$25) ultimatefresher.com

Winged Scarf by Sophia Reyes ($68) sophiareyes.com/wingedscarf

Ethically sourced Monona llama coat by Dene Apparel ($299) denebapparel.com

Cochineal & Eco Dyeing Workshop in Oaxaca, Mexico, conducted by Amy Taylor ($230) msamytaylor.com/products/cochineal-eco-dyeing-workshop-in-oaxaca-mexico

People- and planet-friendly laundry powders and stain removers from Meliora Cleaning Products ($12.99-$44.49) meliorameansbetter.com/collections/laundry

COURTESY SPIRIT TEA
  • Courtesy Spirit Tea

Sampler sets from Spirit Tea ($21) spirittea.co/collections

Tickets to the Signature Show at Chicago Magic Lounge 5050 N. Clark ($45-$60 per seat) chicagomagiclounge.com/purchase-tickets

S. Nicole Lane, editorial associate

"Sling" Shadowsex T-shirt featuring SM artist Joseph W. Bean ($20 plus $8.50 per order shipping or available at the Leather Archives and Museum, 6550 N. Clark) squareup.com/store/leatherarchives/item/t-shirt-leather-sex-shadows-sling

Morton Arboretum yearlong membership ($60-$1,500) mortonarb.org/join-today

Crave Vesper stainless-­steel mini vibrator necklace at Early to Bed 5044 N. Clark or online ($72) early2bed.com/crave-vesper.html

COURTESY ALCALA'S
  • Courtesy Alcala's

Continental fringed pink suede coat from Alcala's Western Wear 1733 W. Chicago or online ($269.99)

Custom-made chain harness by Plz Be Careful (starting at $70) instagram.com/plzbecareful/

Sun, Moon, and Rising Slap Pack zodiac stickers from Attitude Seven ($10) attitudeseven.com/bodega/zodiac-slap

Philip Montoro, music editor

Discount card for West African dance classes from Ayodele Drum & Dance ($45 for five classes or $85 for ten, regular price $10 per class) ayodeledrumanddance.com/itinerary.php

Galactic Zoo Dossier mixtape club 2020 subscription ($40 for six 90-­minute cassettes of rare psych, hard rock, glam, punk, prog, and more, compiled by Steve Krakow) plasticcrimewave.com/merchandise-1

COURTESY PHINEAS X. JONES
  • Courtesy Phineas X. Jones

Custom mounted polymer-­clay sculpture of a real or imaginary animal by Phineas X. Jones (contact artist for quote) octophant.us/sculpt

The Chicago Neighborhood Guidebook, edited by Martha Bayne, from Belt Publishing ($16 online) beltpublishing.com/products/chicago-­neighborhood-guidebook

Gift card for Off Color Brewing's Mousetrap taproom 1460 N. Kingsbury, offcolorbrewing.­com/store/gc

Gift subscription to Elastic Arts 3429 W. Diversey #208 (from $100; premiums include an Elastic T-shirt and a 20 percent discount to most events) elasticarts.org/donate

Next Chapter membership at the Newberry Library 60 W. Walton (donation of $50 or more includes admission for two to the Book Fair Preview Night; Next Chapter restricted to ages 21 through 45) go.newberry.org/next-chapter-gift

Jamie Ramsay, director of photography

Macrame plant hanger workshop at Urban Macrame Fibers ($45) airbnb.com/experiences/15726

Saffron & Smoke (or Peppercorn Rose) Body Bar from Wood & Wax Co. ($12) woodandwaxco.com/collections/body-bars/products/saffron-smoke-body-bar-wood-wax-co

COURTESY WOOD & WAX CO.
  • Courtesy Wood & Wax Co.

Vegan prix fixe dinner at Fancy Plants Cafe 613 W. Briar ($45) experiences.chefsfeed.com/account/profile/kevin.schuder.9/

Tickets to Windy City Rollers roller derby ($15 per bout, $40 season pass) brownpapertickets.com/event/4449040

Hand-thrown Small Brushstroke Plate from Monsoon Pottery ($36) monsoonpottery.com

Gift certificate for custom framing at April 7s 766 N. Milwaukee, instagram.com/april7s/?hl=en

Sugoi Sweets Bonbon Box of 12 ($37) sugoi­sweets.com/collections/holiday-reserve

Kerry Reid, theater and dance editor

COURTESY TRANSIT TEES
  • Courtesy Transit Tees

"El: The Chicago Transit Adventure" board game from Transit Tees 5226 N. Clark ($40) transittees.com/el-the-chicago-transit-adventure-board-game

Cash or in-kind donation to no-kill shelter Felines & Canines 6379 N. Paulina, felinescanines.org

Dance classes at Old Town School of Folk Music 4544 N. Lincoln ($132-$156 for eight-week session) oldtownschool.org/classes/adults/

Imani Perry's Looking for Lorraine: The Radical and Radiant Life of Lorraine Hansberry from Penguin Random House at Women and Children First 5233 N. Clark ($17.95) womenandchildrenfirst.com/book/9780807039830

Dark chocolate assortment from Belgian Chocolatier Piron 509-A Main St., Evanston ($24.50 per half-pound box) belgchocpiron.com/signature-assortment/dark-chocolate-assortment

Kate Schmidt, deputy editor

Tao of Nuts chocolate-­covered almonds from Chicago Artizen ($11-$41) chicagoartizen.com/store/p20/TaoofNuts.html

Buy one, get one free subscription to Poetry magazine ($35 for two, additional subscriptions $17.50) pcdfusion.com/pcd/Order?iKey=I**BG5

COURTESY THE MUSIC BOX THEATRE
  • Courtesy the Music Box Theatre

Gift certificate to the Music Box Theatre 3733 N. Southport, musicboxtheatre.com

CDs by local Delmark recording artists, e.g., the Paul Giallorenzo Trio's Flow ($15.99) delmark.com/product/5026

Fitness membership or classes at 360 Mind Body Soul ($25 single-class drop-in, 30-day rookie trial with unlimited classes for $60, yearlong membership $99) 360mbs.com/pricing

Pet portrait by Dmitry Samarov ($200 for a framed gouache painting "any size within reason," $20 for a pen sketch) dmitrysamarov.com/gallery/illustrations/petportraits_index.html

Prints or gifts from Chicago Printmakers' 30th anniversary International Print Exhibition and Holiday Sale, December 7-8 at Chicago Printmakers Collaborative 4912 N. Western, chicagoprintmakers.com/print-making-gallery-chicago

Drinking chocolate or truffle sets from Katherine Anne Confections 2745 W. Armitage ($21-$24) katherine-anne.com/truffles  v

Support Independent Chicago Journalism: Join the Reader Revolution

We speak Chicago to Chicagoans, but we couldn’t do it without your help. Every dollar you give helps us continue to explore and report on the diverse happenings of our city. Our reporters scour Chicago in search of what’s new, what’s now, and what’s next. Stay connected to our city’s pulse by joining the Reader Revolution.

Are you in?

  Reader Revolutionary $35/month →  
  Rabble Rouser $25/month →  
  Reader Radical $15/month →  
  Reader Rebel  $5/month  → 

Not ready to commit? Send us what you can!

 One-time donation  → 

Comments (3)

Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment
 

Add a comment