Daniel Barenboim and Members of the Staatskapelle Berlin and the CSO | Theater Critic's Choice | Chicago Reader

Arts & Culture » Theater Critic's Choice

Daniel Barenboim and Members of the Staatskapelle Berlin and the CSO


Sign up for our newsletters Subscribe


Daniel Barenboim's other orchestra, the Staatskapelle Berlin, is in town for a four-day, star-studded Schumann festival at Symphony Center, and before they all fly off to New York to redo the whole thing, a few key members--clarinetist Matthias Glander, violist Felix Schwartz, cellist Kyril Zlotnikov, and double bassist Nabil Shehata--will first fly up to Evanston to play chamber music with two CSO violinists, Robert Chen and Blair Milton, and, of course, Barenboim. This is a rare opportunity to hear some outstanding first-chair orchestral musicians in a more revealing small ensemble, performing masterpieces from the repertoire--Mozart's sublime Quintet in A Major for Clarinet and Strings, Schubert's joyful Trout Quintet, and Dvorak's lyrical and exhilarating Quintet in A Major for Piano and Strings. Barenboim is a great pianist, but I hope he has time to practice, because the Dvorak sounds like a knuckle buster. The program is part of Northwestern University's Winter Chamber Music Festival, which runs through January 25. Sunday, January 18, 7:30 PM, Pick-Staiger Concert Hall, Northwestern University, 50 Arts Circle Dr., Evanston; 847-467-4000 or 847-491-5441.

Support Independent Chicago Journalism: Join the Reader Revolution

We speak Chicago to Chicagoans, but we couldn’t do it without your help. Every dollar you give helps us continue to explore and report on the diverse happenings of our city. Our reporters scour Chicago in search of what’s new, what’s now, and what’s next. Stay connected to our city’s pulse by joining the Reader Revolution.

Are you in?

  Reader Revolutionary $35/month →  
  Rabble Rouser $25/month →  
  Reader Radical $15/month →  
  Reader Rebel  $5/month  → 

Not ready to commit? Send us what you can!

 One-time donation  → 

Add a comment