No Joy, Deep Breath | Schubas | Rock, Pop, Etc | Chicago Reader

No Joy, Deep Breath Soundboard Recommended Image

When: Mon., June 8, 8 p.m. 2015

One of the tricky things about following the path of shoegaze laid out decades ago by My Bloody Valentine is that most travelers eventually hit a dead end. There are only so many interesting records that can be made by shoving dreamy pop melodies beneath crushing waves of guitar noise. On their terrific new record, More Faithful (Mexican Summer), the Canadian quartet No Joy haven’t abandoned their love of the formula—which is evident on the surging opener, “Remember Nothing”—but they have learned to mix things up by dialing down the volume and distortion. On the lush ballad “Everything New” the chord changes are traced out by what sounds like a hammered dulcimer, and the pretty vocal harmonies of Jasamine White-Gluz and Laura Lloyd easily hold off the seething six-string buzz that’s fighting to explode. In addition to playing with dynamics, No Joy have also delivered a much stronger batch of melodies—these hit like bricks rather than breezing by like the clouds of yore. —Peter Margasak

Price: $12, $10 in advance

Add a review


Select a star to rate.